Introduction Part 1. Primer on Some of God’s Answers About Injustice and Watchfulness

Conversations With God About Justice

Job

Then the Lord spoke to Job out of the storm. He said:

“Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge?
[. . .]

“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand.

(Job 38:1-4)

Then the Lord spoke to Job out of the storm:

“Brace yourself like a man; I will question you, and you shall answer me.

“Would you discredit my justice? Would you condemn me to justify yourself?

(Job 40:6-8)

Habakkuk

Habakkuk’s Complaint

How long, Lord, must I call for help, but you do not listen? . . .
Why do you make me look at injustice? Why do you tolerate wrongdoing?
Destruction and violence are before me; there is strife, and conflict abounds.
Therefore the law is paralyzed, and justice never prevails.
The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted.

(Habakkuk 1:2-4)

The Lord’s Answer

“. . . I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.
I am raising up the Babylonians, that ruthless and impetuous people,
who sweep across the whole earth to seize dwellings not their own.
They are a feared and dreaded people; they are a law to themselves and promote their own honor.
[. . .]
. . . guilty people, whose own strength is their god.”

(Habakkuk 1:5-11)

Habakkuk’s Second Complaint

You, Lord, have appointed them to execute judgment; . . .
Your eyes are too pure to look on evil . . .
Why then do you tolerate the treacherous? . . .
I will stand at my watch . . .
I will look to see what he will say to me, and what answer I am to give to this complaint.

(Habakkuk 1:12-2:1, emphasis added)

Then the Lord replied:

“Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it.

[ . . . ]
Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.

“See, the enemy is puffed up; his desires are not upright—but the righteous person will live by his faithfulness—

(Habakkuk 2:1-4)

Genesis of Injustice

Then the Lord said to Cain, “Where is your brother Abel?”

“I don’t know,” he replied. “Am I my brother’s keeper?”

The Lord said, “What have you done? Listen! Your brother’s blood cries out to me from the ground. Now you are under a curse and driven from the ground, which opened its mouth to receive your brother’s blood from your hand. When you work the ground, it will no longer yield its crops for you. You will be a restless wanderer on the earth.”

(Genesis 4:9-10)

But the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?”

He answered, “I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.”

And he said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?”

The man said, “The woman you put here with me—she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.”

Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this you have done?”

The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.”

(Genesis 3:9-13)

Jesus the Light of All Mankind and the World

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

(John 1:1-5, emphasis added)

As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

“Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

(John 9:1-5, , emphasis added)

Jesus’ Call to Be the Light the World

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

(Matthew 5:14-16, emphasis added)

Jesus’ Call to Keep Watch

Be dressed ready for service and keep your lamps burning . . . You also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

[. . .]

“. . . But suppose the servant says to himself, ‘My master is taking a long time in coming,’ and he then begins to beat the other servants . . . The master of that servant will come on a day when he does not expect him and at an hour he is not aware of. He will cut him to pieces and assign him a place with the unbelievers.

“The servant who knows the master’s will and does not get ready or does not do what the master wants will be beaten with many blows. . . . From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded . . .

(Luke 12:35-48, emphasis added)

I have posted watchmen on your walls, Jerusalem; they will never be silent day or night.

You who call on the Lord, give yourselves no rest . . .

(Isaiah 62:6-7, emphasis added)

Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the people of Israel; so hear the word I speak and give them warning from me.

(Ezekiel 3:17; 33:7, emphasis added)

Leave a Reply

